BİR ŞEHİR KURMAK: ANKARA, 1923-1933

DSC_0061.JPG

This is an exhibition prepared by TED University Dean Ali Cengizkan and his daughter Müge Cengizkan with the support of a very large organization. In my opinion, this exhibition is a very useful exhibition especially for people living in Ankara, and I recommend that people from all walks of life visit this exhibition. I would like to express my gratitude to our dean Ali Cengizkan and his daughter Müge Cengizkan for their efforts.

The exhibition reveals a new field of knowledge by modeling the state of housing and public buildings, which is considered the first expansion of modern Ankara. When Ankara was declared a republic, it became the capital and had to expand both in terms of the easy running of the new government and in order to provide accommodation.

In this exhibition, Ali Cengizkan and his daughter made studies about this period of the history of Ankara, which we have the least knowledge about, and looking at the documents that have been ignored to date, original plan sheets, deed, and cadastre documents and increasing collections in the 2000s, archives based on postcards and albums in their knowledge. In addition, this methodology itself has produced an innovative digital valuation and microhistory study.

In addition, there are comments by major Turkish and famous people around the world (writers, politicians, etc.) about Ankara. When I read these comments, I was obviously proud of the city I lived in because I was happy to be aware of living in an important place both in terms of geopolitics and the history of my country.

DSC_0059

DSC_0068

The most remarkable part of the exhibition for me was the models that showed the changes that Ankara houses had undergone in these 10 years. I also caught my attention to the draft portrait drawings in the exhibition. These portraits were portraits of important people whose thoughts about Ankara were on display.

DSC_0058

Some pictures from the exhibition:

Leave a comment